Live On Ten Legs, Brad Live in December & Ed on New R.E.M. record

by Kathy Davis on November 4, 2010

Greetings, PJ Fans!

We know is the first stop on your PJ daily news feed, but in case you missed it, a new 18-Track Live Compilation, is being released to kick off the 20th Anniversary Celebration, available for preorder. Here are the details from




Pearl Jam announce the release of “Live on Ten Legs,” a new live compilation album that will be available through Pearl Jam’s Ten Club and select digital and independent music retailers on January 18, 2011 (January 17, 2011 internationally).

Kicking off the band’s twentieth anniversary year, “Live on Ten Legs” features 18 Pearl Jam tracks recorded over the course of the band’s 2003-2010 world tours by recording engineer, John Burton (full track listing below). All tracks have been newly remixed by longtime Pearl Jam engineer Brett Eliason and remastered.

“Live on Ten Legs” will be available internationally through Island Records as a digital version, CD version and adeluxe version. The deluxe version will include a CD, double LP package, four mini poster reprints, five live photos and a tour laminate. The album will be available in the United States as a digital version, CD version and vinyl version.

A Ten Club pre-sale of the CD and vinyl versions of “Live on Ten Legs” begins today at

Pearl Jam’s “Live on Ten Legs” is a follow up to their platinum 1998 live release, “Live on Two Legs,” whichconsisted of performances recorded during the band’ssummer 1998 North American tour.

“Live on Ten Legs” Tracklisting:

1. Arms Aloft

2. World Wide Suicide

3. Animal

4. Got Some

5. State of Love And Trust

6. I Am Mine

7. Unthought Known

8. Rearview Mirror

9. The Fixer

10. Nothing As It Seems

11. In Hiding

12. Just Breathe

13. Jeremy

14. Public Image

15. Spin the Black Circle

16. Porch

17. Alive

18. Yellow Ledbetter

Live on Ten Legs can be pre-ordered now in the Goods section at Pearl here.

>>>Next, Brad mentions on their Facebook page the following yummy tidbit of news:

Looks like we are headed to Los Angeles in December

While we anxiously await details, just the thought of more Brad live gives our humble editor a huge happy!

>>>Finally, if you’ve been incommunicado you might have missed the great news that our own singer Eddie Vedder is guesting on R.E.M’s forthcoming 2011 release “Collapse Into Now”.  Ed is featured on the track “It Happened Today”, and astute PJ fans Tjeerd and Mirella on the Bugs Mailing List pointed out that the recording may have occurred in Berlin when PJ played there over the summer – and that “Collapse” guest Patti Smith was there as well. had a nice interview with bassist Mike Mills about the internationally-recorded release.:

“With Accelerate we were trying to make a point by making the songs as short and as fast as possible,” Mills tells SPIN. “So we wanted this new one to be more expansive. We wanted to put more variety into it and not limit ourselves to any one type of song. There are some really slow, beautiful songs; there are some nice, mid-tempo ones; and then there are three or four rockers.”

Mills adds that while Accelerate‘s lyrics were politically-inspired,Collapse Into Now is a “very personal, very human record. Not only to [singer] Michael [Stipe], but personal and human in the sense of the narrative of the songs, the protagonists of the songs.”

The 12-track release — produced by Garret “Jacknife” Lee (Snow Patrol, U2), who plays alongside R.E.M.’s Peter Buck in alt-country supergroup Tired Pony — includes rocker “All the Best,” and the album’s closing song, “Blue,” which features vocals from Patti Smith.

A yet-to-be-named song, which Mills promises will feature the word “alligator” in its title, features Peaches on vocals and Smith’s longtime collaborator Lenny Kaye on guitar.

“It Happened Today” features Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder on vocals.

Another, “Walk It Back,” was written during studio sessions in New Orleans, the product of the band’s new approach to writing and recording. Instead of penning a batch of tunes and tracking them in a marathon session, R.E.M. scheduled sessions in different cities — Berlin, Nashville, New Orleans — with breaks between to write and rewrite songs.

“It’s also fun for us to go to the cities we really love and spend some time,” says Mills. After a day’s work in the studio, the band would go out to dinner. “It’s really important to go out, get great food, shrug off the debris of the day, and just be friends and have a good time. In Berlin you drink beer and eat wurst. In New Orleans you eat Cajun food and drink Sazerac. In Nashville we ate a lot of fried chicken.”

A bounty of great news, indeed – Rock!

Kathy Davis ( Twitter: @CrookedArm23 )
A Bay-Area based entrepreneur, co-editor Kathy conceives and writes her share of TFT’s articles and sections. She was co-editor/co-founder of one of the first Pearl Jam fanzines "Footsteps" (1992-1997). Kathy’s first Pearl Jam show was at the Bridge School Benefit on November 1, 1992.

Leave a Comment